On My Bench: Day Modeling and $30 Airbrushes

The oft-discussed Gaahleri GHAD-39 double-action airbrush, which I took for a test drive to paint the base color coat of the Red Star Miniature MT-LB. It did well; could easily do very small lines without apparent spatters. Good heft, trigger spring heavy without being overbearing, but the overall finish and lines of the tool not nearly as buttery smooth and graceful as Harder & Steenbeck or GSI Creos PS-series competitors–but not a surprise at a tenth or fifth the price.
Good ol’ Soviet green on this good ol’ utility armored vehicle. The Ghaaleri airbrush got those road wheels painted with minimal overspray on the tracks or rubber tires. All during an unexpected break in my work calendar!

6 comments

  1. Thanks again for your review. I’m glad I have bought it. I have used it once on my vintage Revell B-29 model kit. I will use it again on two other vintage Aurora model kits.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply